One by Sarah Crossan- May BOM

This beautiful novel, comprised of lyrical free verse, will make you reconsider everything you knew about friendship, sacrifice and freedom.

one.jpg

Tippi and Grace are sixteen, and after a lifetime of homeschooling, they’re going to an elite private school, with their space paid for by the government. They’re grateful; they come from a suffering family who can barely afford to pay for all their medication. They’re are lucky too; this new opportunity would not be possible if they couldn’t only take up one space at the school. Some people might marvel them, other shrink away in disgust. But one thing is clear; these two twins are beyond the group of ordinary they desire to be in. Tippi and Grace are conjoined.

I absolutely loved this novel, and the way it is written in free verse so that it resembles a trail of thought. I think that this is a very effective way of writing because it shows the reader that the two girls are in fact separate entities, each with their individual desires despite their shared body. Also, because of this original style of writing it is more striking and memorable, and because not many author care to experiment with forms of verse anymore and stick only to conventional prose.

I thought that the plot was well executed; Crossan immediately makes us engage through pathos, as we see from the start the sacrifices each girl makes for the other in order to have a happy, compromised life, and that, in turn if something effects one person, there is a knock on effect for the other. I have only ever heard of one other book about conjoined twins, but it seemed to serious and heavy for my liking. Here, Crossan deals with delicate issues too, but she makes them as relatable as they can be. For example, Tippi and Grace go to school for the first time; high school. Everyone can remember that in one form or another, and can relate to that daunting experience even if they didn’t have the issue of being the centre of attention. Also, Crossan does not weaken the plot at any point in order to make it more bearable on the reader’s behalf; it is extremely emotional as we see their family battle against poverty, suffer with an alcoholic father and bear the injuries of given to them through the public eye.

This is an amazing book; I would definitely recommend it because it is short and concise, without babbling on at all! It investigates such an unusual crazy condition perfectly and has an utterly breathtaking story. Tell me now; why wouldn’t make this book of the month?

 

4 thoughts on “One by Sarah Crossan- May BOM”

  1. Ahhh I liked this one too!! I was a BIT worried I wouldn’t like all the verse, because i’m so not a poetry fan…but it was so simplistic and beautifully done. I LOVED how it captured their voices and emotions. (I only felt like it limited description a lot and kind of didn’t let the secondary characters be fleshed out so much?) BUT ANYWAY IT WAS SUCH A GOOD BOOK. And so unique!! 😀

    Like

    1. Yes; I was worried because I hadn’t read any verse books before either, except Out of The Dust, and I knew that it wasn’t going to be similar in that sense to One anyway…I know what you mean about the lack of description though, but I found that I was so engrossed in the story that I wasn’t too bothered by those faults!

      Like

  2. Your review really made me curious to read the book! How did you come about this book? Was it recommended to you?

    Like

Leave a Reply

